Full List of ECMA 2018 Award Winners

And like that another East Coast Music Award celebration has come to an end.  After four nights, a dozen or so venues and countless performances, the final bell has rung and the list of award winners has been announced.

“It’s been amazing to celebrate our event in Halifax, the city where the ECMAs all began 30 years ago. Congratulations to all of this week’s winners and nominees, and thank you to all of the incredible artists who’ve performed throughout the week,” says Andy McLean, ECMA Executive Director.

“I also want to thank everyone who helped make this event a resounding success, including our staff, board, volunteers, local committee, delegates, sponsors, partners, venues, hotels and the community of Halifax who have been so welcoming and enthusiastic these past five days. We can’t wait to come back!”

We here at Hafilax would like to extend a round of applause to all of the nominees.  I couldn’t even begin to think of picking a single individual from each category.  One of these years I’m sure we’ll get a behind the scenes documentary of the entire process, but until then we will continue as we always do.

The following is the list of award winners from the 2018 East Coast Music Awards.



Album of the Year:
Rose Cousins – Natural Conclusion (Producer: Joe Henry)

Blues Recording of the Year:
Tie! Mike Biggar – Go All In and Matt Minglewood – Fly Like Desperados

Bucky Adams Memorial Award:
Measha Brueggergosman

Classical Composition of the Year:
Andrew Staniland – “The River Within Us”

Classical Recording of the Year:
Duo Concertante – Incarnation

Country Recording of the Year:
Makayla Lynn – On A Dare and a Prayer

Dance Recording of the Year:
CRaymak – Play With Fire ft Neon Dreams

Electronic Recording of the Year:

Fans’ Choice Entertainer of the Year:
Matt Minglewood

Fans’ Choice Video of the Year:
KINLEY – “Microphone” (Director: Jenna MacMillan)

Folk Recording of the Year:
Rose Cousins – Natural Conclusion

Francophone Recording of the Year:
Jacques Jacobus – Le retour de Jacobus

Group Recording of the Year:
Les Païens – Carte noire

Gospel Recording of the Year:
Measha Brueggergosman – Songs of Freedom

Indigenous Artist of the Year:
City Natives

Instrumental Recording of the Year:
Rosie MacKenzie – Atlantic

Jazz Recording of the Year:
Paul Tynan and Aaron Lington – Bicoastal Collective: Chapter 5

Loud Recording of the Year:
ZAUM – Eidolon

Pop Recording of the Year:
Jenn Grant – Paradise

Rap/Hip Hop Recording:
Quake Matthews – Celebrate the Struggle

Rising Star Recording of the Year:
KINLEY – Letters Never Sent

Rock Recording of the Year:
Jessie Brown – Keeping Appearances

Roots/Traditional Recording of the Year:
Còig – Rove

Song of the Year:
Rose Cousins – “Grace” (Producer: Joe Henry)

Solo Recording of the Year:
Mo Kenney – The Details

Songwriter of the Year:
Joel Plaskett


Company of the Year:

Event of the Year:
Lunenburg Folk Harbour Festival

Graphic / Media Artist of the Year:
Jud Haynes

Live Sound Engineer of the Year:
Stephen “Snickers” Smith

Management / Manager of the Year:
Sonic Entertainment Group

Media Outlet of the Year:
Halifax Is Burning

Media Person of the Year:
Hillary Windsor

Producer of the Year:
Daniel Ledwell

Studio Engineer of the Year:
Jamie Foulds

Studio of the Year:
New Scotland Yard

Venue of the Year:
The Carleton Music Bar & Grill

Video of the Year:
Kevin Davison – “When Those Sirens Are Gone”

ECMA Aficionados:
Dalhousie’s Fountain School of Performing Arts
Fred and Elizabeth Fountain
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
O’Regan’s Lexus
Stewart McKelvey
Rob Sobey


Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction:
Allister MacGillivray for “Song for the Mira”

Directors’ Special Achievement Award:
Kevin Macmichael

Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award:
Lynn Horne

Industry Builder Award:
Louis Thomas

Musicians’ Achievement Award:
Geoff Arsenault

Stompin’ Tom Awards:
James McQuaid (MCJ) and Richard Gray (Cool G) (NS)
Jon Rehder (PEI)
Liz Solo (NL)
Gordie Tufts (NB)
Winston “Scotty” Fitzgerald (CB)

“On behalf of the ECMA Board of Directors, I want to thank you for your dedication to ensuring that the 2018 ECMAs was a successful and productive event. An undertaking of this magnitude would be impossible to carry out without contributions from all areas of the Halifax community. Thank you to the dedicated team of local volunteers who have made this event work so well at the grassroots level. Thank you to Matt Hebb and Candace Thomas, Co-Chairs of the Local Engagement Committee, who have been integral to ensuring that the ECMAs are in the best position possible with regard to public and corporate partnerships. A big thank you to all the contract staff who work as part of the ECMA team under stressful and time-critical conditions. I also want to especially thank our dedicated full-time staff, who work year round to ensure that this event is a success. Thank you to Andy McLean, Kathryn Herbert, Jeff Lawton, Tara MacDonald and Chantal Caissie,” says Dean Stairs, Chair of the ECMA Board.

“Last but by no means least, thank you to the city and people of Halifax and the Halifax Regional Municipality. We are grateful to be able to celebrate our 30th anniversary in the city where it all began, thank you Halifax!”

About the author


Jeff is one-fourth of the group that makes up HAFILAX. His usual ramblings can be read right here on the website. If reading isn't your thing, he also hosts the Basement Tapes podcast.